Youth.SG reviews SeaStars 2007

I’ve no idea how many people visit Youth.SG but I have the impression they run a pretty successful youth portal (they ran this neat blogging contest in 2007). Well, to my knowledge they were one of the first government-backed site to start a blog.

So you can imagine how tickled I was when Youth.SG editor, Lai Chow (a ‘she’, not ‘he’), emailed me to say they would be reviewing SeaStars 2007.

WTF (what the Fish)!?

Youth.SG reviewing the songs of two “old fogeys”?

So it was with trepidation that I read their review:

This being the Starfish Stories’ first stab at an album, it’s a rather noteworthy debut.

Hoookay… “rather noteworthy”. Meaning, “give them two oldsters a chance?” heh. I bet there’s a “But” coming up:

Its good ol’ mellow, soothing, and somewhat melancholic music somewhat rues the violence of the world. Waves gush, toddlers giggle. Seastars is soft, easy-listening music, and it’s not afraid to be so.

OK, so far so good. Still no Buts. So I read on:

I must say SeaStars qualifies as very good contemplative music; I can imagine this playlist looping over and over in my iPod. It’s not just music for those sentimental nights by the sea (even though Singapore is an island). You can take this anywhere with you, even to chill-out cafes, hotel lounges, Starbucks, or even if you’re home alone on a rainy day.

It’s so easylistening, I almost fell asleep after listening to the album. I’m wondering if that’s good or bad.

To sum it up, SeaStars is a product which is the complete opposite of what the popular indie rock bands are doing in Singapore. Forget dueling synthesisers or guitar wizardry. With piano and classical guitar-driven arrangements dominating the album, this is music that goes back to the basics. The only slight problem you might have is distinguishing tracks from one another, since the tunes just pour into one another like waves.

Full post, here.

Draft SeaStars 2007 cover art

I wonder if the reviewer, Benjamin Tay (who’s 19 of age, according to Lai Chow) was being polite to us since we’re like “Uncles” and all to him. 🙂

It’s not that I’m not appreciative of his positive review. Just that after from all our reviews so far, I just took for granted there must be some areas that the album could be improved. And people have not hesitated to tell us so!

Plus, how many youngsters were likely to like New Age?

But then, I discovered and fell in love with music from Enya and Andre Vollenweider when I was 15 or 16.

So thanks very much, Benjamin (and Lai Chow).

You made these two Uncles happy, LOL.

~ Ivan

~ by Ivan Chew on January 11, 2008.

One Response to “Youth.SG reviews SeaStars 2007”

  1. awww, you’re too hard on yourself. for our part we’re glad old fogeys come to Youth.SG! (kidding)

Leave a Reply

 
