Lam Chun See reviews SeaStars 2007

Thanks to Chun See (who btw has a great blog at GoodMorningYesterday) for taking time to review the songs.

He emailed me the following:

Hi Ivan,

  • I have zero background in music and don’t even know where to begin. But since you ask …. Here goes.
  • I don’t know any musical terms so to illustrate my point, I refer to well-known hit. Pls don’t think that I am so unrealistic as to compare your first effort with the mega-hit of big star.

1) Generally, melody tend to be quite easy on the ears, and nice to listen to but hard to recall what the songs were like (I listened 3X). There is a strange similarity to most of the songs.

2) I like the introduction, but along the way sort of like no clear path. Like strolling in the woods and then suddenly just end. Should work harder on the ending. Some of them end too suddenly and unexpectedly, e.g. #9, Seabreeze.

3) Not possible to discern any cycles; e.g. I am used to singing hymns in church. Usually you have 3 or 4 verses with a chorus or refrain. In your songs, it’s just like a straight path.

4) Generally the tunes make good background music. I keep visualizing movie credits with your music playing. But overall tend to be a bit monotonous/bland. I think you should be more adventurous. Example, midway, go off track with something loud or with more variation; and then slow down again. Using your seaside analogy. It’s like gentle waves; a big ship pass by, you get some big waves, and then later back to normal. Otherwise, its just gentle waves all the way.

Good example is Starfish (#3) – But here the intro is too long. Only after 1.5 minutes then the tempo picks up. Ending also very sudden.

The best illustration I can think of is this song called Desert Moon (www.youtube.com/watch?v=LfE2Vj1sii0) – I purposely chose a karaoke version with amateurish singing so you concentrate on the background music.

5) The songs I liked most are #1 (Seashore Days) , #6 (Stargazer) – Nice intro and build up to the electric guitar part; and #9, Sea Breeze. For Sea Breeze, please do away with the gong – out of place; maybe chimes more appropriate. Again sudden unexpected end.

6) The songs I disliked most are: # 4, Into the Deep (Too much animal sounds), #2 Sea Anemone – The same guitar strumming is repeatedly practically throughout the whole song! Otherwise, the melody quite nice.

SeaStars 2007

I replied to Chun See that I liked his non-musician’s perspective the best, as I tend to understand more of what he said! 🙂

Thanks for taking time to do this, Chun See.

~ Ivan

~ by Ivan Chew on January 1, 2008.

2 Responses to “Lam Chun See reviews SeaStars 2007”

  1. Hey Ivan, I didn’t expect you to put up my comments for whole world to see. Expert like Elaine is full of praise and amateur like me dare to criticize. Malu man.

  2. Oops, I guess I wasn’t clear in my email! Sorry to give you a shock, but we make it a point to post the reviews. Anyway, what you wrote made sense. No malu lah! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
