Review from Oceanskies79

PY, aka Oceanskies, posts a long and thoughtful review of the album.

The songs weren’t her cup of tea, and musically, Adrian and myself certainly have much to learn (which is all true).

Extracts:

On the positive note, this album offers soothing tracks for anyone who would like a break away from the noisy and clamouring sounds of city life.

However, if I were to be a critical critic, I would find this album lacking very much in an overall sense of contrast. While I could hear that each track sound different in some ways from the other, my ears perceived the general mood from each of the tracks to be similar.

For someone like myself who is used to listening to contrasts between the different movements of a symphony, and to the contrasts found within many Western art music works, Seastars 2007 is not an album that I would personally recommend to folks like myself who delights in listening to music that has a fair degree of contrast.

I won’t mind listening to Seastars 2007 when I needed some soothing music for the sheer sake of getting away from loud music. However, it is certainly not an album that I would recommend if I would like to listen to music from the sheerly musical plane. The melodies of the tracks were perceived by my ears to be fairly similar to one another even though they were from different tracks. I was consciously listening out for interesting use of harmony, but my ears could not pick up any particular one.

While occassionally, there are some interesting moments in the music, e.g. the ‘bubbling’ sounds in Into the Deep, and the more oriental flavour and erhu-like sound in Seabreeze, my ears tell me that there is still a need for more musically interesting moments and contrasts within the music. Overall, the album felt soothing but too plain for my liking.

I suppose whether or not one decides to listen to this album is dependent on one’s intention at the point in time. If it was to listen to soothing and fairly calming music, this album could be one of the choices. If it was to listen more consciously to music at a sheer musical plane, then one would be quite disappointed with the overall plain quality of the entire album.

PY’s full review here.

Again, a very honest and constructive review.

What PY suggested (about contrasts and harmonies) seems similar to Jeremy’s review. That’s where formal musical awareness allows them to discern what Adrian and myself aren’t aware.

It’s certainly opened my eyes to something new. Definitely things we’ll discuss for our next musical project.

SeaStars 2007

As always, our friends have kind words to end their reviews:

Then again, the musicians themselves do deserve credits for all the efforts that they have put in to realise this album. If one is keen to support budding musicians or local production, it certainly won’t kill to listen to this album for at least one time. Afterall, I can sense that this album is a production made with lots of sincerity.

LOL! Thanks, PY 🙂

~ Ivan

~ by Ivan Chew on December 31, 2007.

2 Responses to “Review from Oceanskies79”

  1. Hi Ivan, on listening to music and the musical planes, I suggest that you can read Aaron Copland’s What to Listen for in Music. I have a short post about this book here.

  2. Excellent! I found that the NLB has a copy (Call No.: 781.17 COP -[ART]) so I’ll get hold of it. Thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

 
