Typical GB Session

Typical GB session
Labelled using Skitch.

Adrian Loo - ProfileHere’s a shot of a typical GB session with my Ovation. One of the things that surprised me was the quality of the sound recording that the MacBook does. I don’t even plug in the Ovation. Of course there is background noise but this is easily reduced by using the Gate which basically acts like a gate. You can adjust the amount of background noise you want to let through. So, in some of the songs that I did, you can actually hear my kids running and playing outside the room in the hall.

So basically I was thinking, my goodness, how accessible music making is to amateurs like us. Anyone can basically pick up an instrument and start the recording process. Best of all, if you don’t know how to play, you can just fiddle around with loops – there are plenty in GarageBand.

It was a long time since I actually took up the old guitar to actually write a song. Its near to impossible for me to write a piece solo and being able to play or jam along with some prerecorded tracks was quite a release. Next thing I knew, I was writing more and more music. If you have some musical inclination at all, it is a nice hobby to pick up – Garagebanding.

However, its been too hot lately to do anything well… so this weekend was just working on the GB tracks for Shimmering Reflections and trying out some tuneful melodies to go along with the chords.

~ by lekowala on October 7, 2007.

2 Responses to “Typical GB Session”

  1. How effective is “Tagore’s Bio” in reducing heat from the Macbook? LOL!

  2. […] home studio (2007) Inspired by Adrian’s earlier post on how his home music studio looks like, I decided to show mine as […]

Leave a Reply

 
