Into The Deep

[UPDATE, 8 Oct 2007: Amended version (1.1) of the song posted here]

Ivan Chew - ProfileI composed this specifically for the SeaStars album. It was completed about a week ago:

Listen/ download at ARCHIVE.ORG

The whalesong that you hear was sampled from this open source audio from archive.org’s Our Media collection from archive.org (I absolutely LURVE archive.org).

The song is supposed to convey a sense of one diving into the depths of the Deep Ocean.


deep blue sea? Originally uploaded by kristin tachibana

I shared the song with Adrian, asking for inputs. He summed it up perfectly in his reply:

When I listen to it I got this feeling of being underwater and looking around the sea. Not really at corals or fish but more like in the deep dark ocean, not frightening but a bit mysterious and as though I am confronting the demons of my life and then the song becomes more light hearted in the middle when it goes into a major key and it feels that I am making some progress slaying these demons.. then there are dolphins and whales by the side sort of lending some deep moral and soulful support.


Humpback Mom & Baby
Originally uploaded by cornforthimages06


A Shark In The Deep
Originally uploaded by kristensenlasse


Giants of the Deep
Originally uploaded by dan mogford


Okinawa Aquarium: Deep Sea 2
Originally uploaded by weewoo

I’ll post more on how I recorded and engineering this piece later. Now I’ve got to go out with my wife for our regular Sunday outing.

~ Ivan

~ by Ivan Chew on October 7, 2007.

5 Responses to “Into The Deep”

  1. i am listening to this as i read the description from adrian. indeed it feels that way but the sudden entry of the electric guitar sounded so harsh and jarring… didn’t really blend in with the earlier mystery. I guess it could do with some accompaniment but i’m no expert! in all, i like how you combined the whale song! this is excellent!!

  2. ok hmm listening to it again. i take back what i said earlier about accompaniment 🙂 i honestly don’t know how to describe it. it just sounds kinda heavy. but the whole song is so beautiful so i shan’t distract from the song by picking on one small bit. I really like this song! really! hehe 🙂

  3. Thanks so much for listening to the song. And listening TWICE and commenting… Adrian and I really made the right move to appoint you as our Fanclub manager! LOL

    You’re quite right about the entry of the electric lead guitar being jarring. It can be smoother. But I lack the skills to arrange it or edit it to get that effect. Also, I have to admit I’m a bit unwilling to do any further modification since I spent quite a bit of time adjusting the guitar layers. Still… if enough people say the same thing, I might have to do the hard thing and remove or modify it.

    Again, thanks for the comment. I’m seriously considering what you wrote. There’s still time to amend it and if I have to do it to make it perfect, then I’ll have to do it.

  4. I think what may work… well from my very amateurish point of view… is to include some pipe music ala Kitaro or the Ocarina’s tunes together with the guitar. Like monkey has said, electric guitar riffs tend to sound rather harsh and less ethereal and other-worldly, which is what the sound of the whales seek to achieve i guess

  5. I decided that you two were right about the lead guitar. Here’s the amended version.

Leave a Reply

 
